General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Starting all over again Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-11-02 12:01 PM

Regular
Atlanta, Georgia
Subject: Starting all over again

Hello to everyone, 

I am a recycled newbie!  I started on Beginnertriathlete in the fall of last year. For some strange reason I decided that I was going to lose some weight and do a triathlon.  I paid my money for Danskin at Disney so I wouldn't chicken out.  I trained just a tiny little bit, nowhere near what I should have but more than I would have done otherwise.  The weekend came and my family had to go to TX, so I decided I would try anyway and not be disappointed if I didn't make it.  I went to Orlando and amazingly enough I finished!  I wasn't even last.  I was on cloud nine for a little while, I couldn't believe that I did it! 

Well, you would have thought I would have gotten into a great exercise routine after that but I didn't.  I did participate in the Peachtree road race but I walked the whole thing.  So here I am again, fatter than last year, fatter than I was when I was pregnant at the most I have ever weighed in my life and I am going to start again.  I weigh 227 pounds and I am 5 feet 10 1/2 inches.  I haven't told my weight to anyone in a long time.

I think I am going to shoot for doing the Danskin again in May and try to do slightly better in time than I did before.  Today, I started Atkins.  I need a mental boost from losing some weight quickly.  I am planning on staying on Atkins till Thanksgiving, going off for Thanksgiving and then either starting Atkins again or something else.  I am going to simply start by walking an hour each day and go from there.  Thanks for listening.  I needed to write it out so I am more committed. - swp

2005-11-02 4:39 PM
in reply to: #276524

User image

Expert
St. Louis, MO
Subject: RE: Starting all over again
Welcome back! 
2005-11-02 8:25 PM

User image

Expert
McKinney, TX