General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Any tips appreciated Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2003-10-11 10:03 PM

Subject: Any tips appreciated
I'm a 40 yo women who has decided on my first tri. I have recently competed in an NPC figure competition.But that dealt with alot of training with mainly weights. I love lifting but at a lean 5'9" I feel I need a new goal. I FINALLY quit smoking and want to start to build by cardio and enurance. Swimming was my first choice since it is getting cold out. 2X wk 35 laps. As a beginner I was wondering what's the best route to take. It seems like swimming through the winter will help build my lung capacity for running wich I find to be difficult ( all cardi is a challeng). I set out for my first run today in 6 months it seemed difficult, a walk run, but then I biked 2 miles. I have only been a non smoker for 3 weeks but am determined to compete next spring. ANy suggestions on a training routine (books) would be greatly aqppreciated. I realize I have a lot to learn in technique in each event. Any suggestions for a begginer to combinre all 3 events. Thanks Dednise

2003-10-11 11:29 PM
in reply to: #1162

User image

Central Louisiana
Subject: RE: Any tips appreciated
Check out this link here at BT that Ron has for a beginning program(s)

http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/sprint%20programs.htm

Use it to adapt to your needs and as you get more comfortable with the training you will suddenly start finding your way. As always please ask any questions you have and somebody has probably had a similar experience with the same thing and can offer you valuable advice.

Still Tri'n
Michael
2003-10-12 4:59 AM

User image

Champion
Gold member
Subject: kudos on the non-smoking.