General Discussion Triathlon Talk » My first time is tomorrow! John Tanner sprint tri Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-04-30 8:28 PM

User image

Veteran
Columbus, GA
Subject: My first time is tomorrow! John Tanner sprint tri
After years of longing, and months of preparation, I am finally getting to do my first triathlon at the Tri the parks triathlon series Race #1 at John Tanner State Park in Carrolton, GA. http://www.tribluesky.com/I invited several friends, but none decided to race with me. I also invited lots of friends and family to watch, but couldn’t convince anyone to go. However, I am undaunted, and tomorrow morning at 4:30 AM I will roll out of the driveway alone towards my great adventure.

I am a former competitive swimmer (the pool kind). I have been running off and on for a few years, and started getting more serious in December. In February I decided to pursue a triathlon, and started logging to the BT sight. Since that time I have logged 40,000 yards swimming, 100 miles of running and 200 miles of Biking. (I know, I didn’t log enough bike miles).

I have several small goals that I think are worth recapping. I wanted to lose a little weight, mostly for my pants to fit better, which they do. I have lost almost 15 pounds in the last 4 months. I also wanted to increase my run endurance, which I have. I have run for an hour on several occasions. Unfortunately I am not very fast – not sure what I have to do to improve speed. Fartleks, I guess. Anyway there is more time for that later. Finally the big accomplishment on the bike is getting a bike up and running. It is hard to make yourself save up and accumulate stuff (shoes, shorts, helmet, etc…) when there are more pressing things to spend money on. I am now fully outfitted, though of course there are a thousand other fun things that I could buy…