General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » New to Tri's- Need bike advice Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-05-07 7:38 PM

Subject: New to Tri's- Need bike advice

Hi all,

I am fairly new to the sport. I've done 2 sprints, one was with a local Y and was not very organized (got kicked in the head and punched in the side in the water...needless to say, I wasn't interested in a repeat). Second was an indoor tri, which felt a little like a timed workout. It was fun, but not great.

I've spent the last year dedicated to marathon training and went from zero to 26.2 in 6 months, ultimately completing 3 fulls and several halfs between October and March. I started to incorporate the swim and bike as cross training for overuse injuries from all my running and as you can imagine, I am gravitating toward Tri's.

A friend took me on a road ride a few weeks ago and I came home and immediately signed up for a sprint in June, with several others this summer on my wish list, should I finish this one and get hooked. I am a study of anything I get obsessed with, and was led here by my web searching for information. I'm glad to find a community of like-minded people with scores of experience to help newbies like me. I have lots of questions!