General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Brand new to triathlon. Any beginner training groups in and around Boston/Somerville? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-06-12 12:48 PM

Subject: Brand new to triathlon. Any beginner training groups in and around Boston/Somerville?

Hi everyone,

I am BRAND new to this sport! I have completed a bunch of road races over the years, played competitive tennis and have recently been getting into Cross Fit, but never tackled triathlon. I have a friend who competes in local tri-sprints in and around Boston, and after talking to him about it, he suggested I try it out. I am all set and registered for the Title 9 tri-sprint in Hopkinton this September, so there's no going back now...

That being said, I kind of feel like a fish out of water. I just bought a new Trek Lexa road bike, and have been getting acclimated to riding around Somerville and Boston. I'm still a bit awkward on the new bike, and not really confident riding in traffic, so if anyone knows of training groups or participates in any that welcome beginners, that would be great! I would just love to learn from a group of people who know what they are doing and are open to helping a newbie like myself.

Also, any and all beginner tips are more than welcome

Thank you!!

-Lindsey

2012-06-12 1:15 PM
in reply to: #4257868

User image

Veteran
Charlestown
Subject: RE: Brand new to triathlon. Any beginner training groups in and around Boston/Somerville?

Hi Lindsey!

My triathlon team focuses on helping people just like you get acclimated with the sport!  Check out www.zoommultisport.com and let me know if you have any questions.  It's a great group of