General Discussion Triathlon Talk » newbie or regular swim wave? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-09-09 3:05 PM

User image

Subject: newbie or regular swim wave?

Hello, I am a newbie triathlete/experienced distance runner with a couple of questions.

Background: My second triathlon is scheduled for next week-end. It is a sprit tri and the swim will be in the long island sound. My first was a pool triathlon, so this will be my first time in a competitive swim event in open water. I grew up in a house with a pool and had several years of swimming lessons as a kid, but never joined the swim team, etc. I only swam occasionally as an adult until this year. I feel pretty confident swimming in the ocean: very comfortable when the water is calm and in a moderate chop I find it manageable but stop for the larger waves to pass.

1) This race has a newbie wave for the swim. Based on my level of experience, should I join the newbie wave or stay near the back in my age group wave?

2) Does it bother you if you can't get all the get sand off your feet in T1 or is it a non-issue?

Thanks in anticipation of your replies

2012-09-09 3:08 PM
in reply to: #4402301

User image

Expert
McAllen
Subject: RE: newbie or regular swim wave?

Keep a water bottle that you can pour on your feet right before you step on your towel to dry them off that way you take ~5-10s to get all the sand off, and you won't get blisters or anything from friction.

Well, if you're going just for completion might as well start with the "newbie" wave. I don't like swimming around people in front of me especially if they were in a previous wave. However if you think you can do it in under 20 minutes just stick with your age group you can do it!

2012-09-09 3:19 PM

User image

Paul: Thanks for the tip about the water bottle, great idea. I think my time will be around 20 minutes, it's hard to tell how much the current/waves will affect my swim.

Edited by bendy wendy 2012-09-09 3:25 PM