General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Shinsplints..... Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2003-11-27 2:37 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Boise Idaho
Subject: Shinsplints.....
Hello, i am new to the world of running and am having a hard time with shinsplints. Are there any tips out there?? thanx

2003-11-27 6:38 AM
in reply to: #2123

User image

Champion
Gold member
Subject: RE: Shinsplints.....

check out http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/shin_splints.htm if u haven't.  look at your past and current training.  r u going up on miles too fast.  general rule of thumb is not to increase mileage by more than 10% a week.  always have a ez week once a month.  check your shoes.  if not already, go to a professional running store and get fitted.  THE BEST thing u can do for yourself.

if u want, outline your training for the last month and we will take a look at it and offer some more suggestions. 

for now, ease back or bike and swim till u r pain free.

2003-11-27 7:41 AM

I have suffered painful shin splints and am currently working at fixing that. I have gotten lots of information from people and books about them. Ron offers good suggestions. I emphasize the correct shoes! Also the too much too soon syndrome -- back off on miles and time running. I am using Jeff Galloway's Book on Running and am finding it a tremendous help for conditioning my legs. I force myself to stay within the parameters of walking time for at least 2 weeks before shortening it. I am in the middle of the walk 2 run 1 minute. I may stay here for a while -- after all, I have until late spring before I do another triathlon so this is a perfect time to work on this weakness.