General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Short strides or long strides when running Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-04-17 8:02 AM

User image

Regular
Levittown, PA
Subject: Short strides or long strides when running

Ok, I am about 12 days away from my first Tri.  I have now completed 3 bricks when coming off the bike and then running.  I have seen CRAZY results so far.  I have been running for a few years now and I always seem to fall into a comfortable pace of about 9:15 to 9:30 per mile.  My first brick I did a 10+ mile bike and then a 5k run and pace was 8:16 per mile and I felt like I was barely trying.  Next brick was a 14 mile bike and a 1 mile run and again I had exactly an 8:16 per mile pace.  Today was my 3rd brick and I had a 10 mile bike and a 2 mile run with a 7:48 per mile pace.  

The crazy thing about all 3 of these runs.  I felt like I was holding back and still had a ton of energy left in the tank but yet my times were much faster than normal.  I felt like I could have kept that pace up for many more miles too.