General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Nutrition/Vitamin supplemants Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2003-12-10 10:31 AM

Subject: Nutrition/Vitamin supplemants
Does anyone have advice on multi vitamins. As much as I try, I don't get a balanced diet. My nutrition quite frankly sucks. I'm wondering if I should take a multi vitamin, and if so, do I need to shell out a ton of cash at GNC, or can I by a decent one at my local pharmacy for less.

Thanks to all!!!!

2003-12-10 8:09 PM
in reply to: #2450

User image

Elite Veteran
Northern Va/Metro D.C.
Subject: RE: Nutrition/Vitamin supplemants
buy the decent one
2003-12-11 12:55 AM

User image

Veteran
SF East Bay
I try to go the whole food route as much as possble for nutrition and stay away from preservatives, additives, genetically modified grains, dairy hormones and deadly artificial sweeteners. I am no expert or doctor but the headaches I started getting after adding too many diet foods now keeps me far away from aspartame (nutri-sweet) and sucralose. I stopped mixing the cheap protein mix from Costco and headaches went away! Sorry for the rant but this episode really bugged me. I NEVER get headaches.

Anyways, it seems to me unfortunately, cheap vitamin supplements do not give the correct synergistic vitamin/mineral ratios for your body to assimilate properly. I used to take a natural sea water extract that contained all the vitamins/minerals in the same ratios as blood. Now I like a more "alive" enzyme blend/live culture for nutritional power. I use Nature's Plus "Source of Life" energy shake for my base nutritional support. It seems to have everything in it: vitamins, minerals, protein, live cultures, bioflavonoids, enzymes, nucleic acids, essential oils, etc. I mix it with a tall glass of soy milk and frozen organic strawberries for a great pre-workout boost. It is non-GMO/vegetarian and available at the heath food store in a yellow can. It is pricey but worth it!