General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Beginner question! Bike? Run? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-08-29 1:05 PM

Subject: Beginner question! Bike? Run?
Hi guys! Aspiring triathlete newbie here! I’ve got no experience with triathlons but I really want to do a sprint in 2019 with my fiancée. I’m not aiming to win any awards, just looking to get in shape, have a good time, and finish the race.

My exercise background:
I can easily (albeit slowly) swim a mile even if I haven’t practiced in months. I’ve been doing couch to 5K right now to practice my running because I’ve never been able to run long distances. It’s also been years since I’ve ever been on a bike but I could bike 12 miles straight at one point.

My question:
Should I be...
1) finishing the couch to 5K, then adding biking into my workouts
2) working on both running and biking together (even though it will slow down the time it takes me to finish couch to 5K)
3) practicing swimming, running, and biking together

My timeline: The sprint in my area is a little over 6 months away. I’m hoping to find a race in like Sept-Dec to give myself more time to prepare but I haven’t had any luck finding one in North Texas.

2018-08-29 1:11 PM
in reply to: Starksandrecreation

User image

Pro
Subject: RE: Beginner question! Bike? Run?

If it's 6 months away then finish the couch to 5k as you are.  When that's done look for a beginner Tri plan and stick with it, you'll have a nice base of fitness.  6 months is a LOOOONG time to train for a sprint triathlon.....especially if you just want to finish. (you can probably do that now)

2018-08-29 1:22 PM

User image

Champion
Columbia, South Carolina

I agree.  Get yourself into solid 5K running shape.  It'll pay dividends later.  6 months is too far ahead to be thinking of a sprint triathlon, even your first.

It wouldn't hurt, however, to throw in a swim here and there, or a bike ride.  But don't sacrifice the run plan for their sake (yet).