General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » So, So, Incredibly New Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-09-11 10:53 AM

Subject: So, So, Incredibly New
Hi, my name is Natalie. I'm so new I didn't even know a super sprint tri was shorter than a sprint tri... just sayin'.

I am determined to lose weight. I have found that when I have a goal to work for, it makes it a little easier. So, I decided on a super sprint tri. I've got the run down. I mean, I'm very slow, but I can run consistently far enough for a super sprint. I am a novice swimmer and an even more novice cycler.

If anyone has any tips on how to break into these disciplines, that would be wonderful!

I'm also looking for suggestions on a bike. I'm considering a hybrid bike because I'd like it to be useful for more than just an occasional ride/race. I'm not sure about brands, sizes, types, anything.

Any help would be much appreciated!!

2018-09-11 11:13 AM
in reply to: BakerBabe911

User image

Champion
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Bronze member
Subject: RE: So, So, Incredibly New

Welcome! 

If you can get hooked up for some swim lessons, you'll make a lot of progress quickly.  Check out YMCA, college pools, and Master's Swimming (some Master's programs provide more instruction than others).  

A hybrid bike makes a lot of sense if you're only going to have ONE bike.  Go visit ALL of your local bike shops, ask questions, take test rides.  Chances are, one of the shops will have a bike that you like and one will have sales people you like (if you're lucky, the bike and salespeople you like are in the same shop).  

In addition to the bike, you'll need a helmet, floor pump, water bottle (and holder), spare tube, tool kit, and something to put the tool kit and tube in.  You might also get a frame pump or inflator because most of us aren't lucky enough to get a flat at home.  PRACTICE replacing the tube (a good sales person/mechanic might coach you).