General Discussion Triathlon Talk » What Bike Is Next? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2022-06-07 6:40 PM

WOODBURY, New York
Subject: What Bike Is Next?
Hi! Little background on me:

I've been doing triathlons for the past 10 years, with the exception of an injury break, prolonged by covid. I've done a mix of sprints and olympics, but mostly olympics. In the next few years I'd like to do an Ironman. Was originally going to try for next year, but my return to triathlon 2 weeks ago was very humbling!

I have been using the same bike that my ex bought me for my first triathlon 10 years ago, and it's great. It's a Specialized Sectour road bike. I was talking to the guy at my local bike shop about getting a fitting. I've never done one, and want to make sure that I am being good to my body, and in the best position for me. He said that to do olympics I should probably already be using a tri bike instead of my road bike, and I'll definitely need a tri bike to do an Ironman.

Should I really be riding a tri bike at this point? Aside from the fact that I hate the colors of my bike, I've always been pretty happy with her. But now I'm wondering if I've been using the wrong bike. I've just recently upgraded to clipless pedals, and had assumed that I could just keep upgrading my bike.

Is that just putting lipstick on a pig? Should I actually be getting a tri bike or something else I haven't considered? If so, I know nothing about bikes, and could use some guidance on what to look for.

Thanks so much!

Michele

Edited by mnbrick 2022-06-07 6:44 PM

2022-06-07 10:07 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Champion
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Bronze member
Subject: RE: What Bike Is Next?

I'd say "welcome to the sport" but...10 years makes you quite experienced. 

A couple things to consider: