General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Heart rate and run times Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2003-12-19 1:38 PM

Subject: Heart rate and run times
I recently started to monitor my heart rate and I'm at 175 - 190 over most of the 3 mile course I run for time. My max is 190 - near as I can tell and my time is typically 24:15 - 24:45. I haven't really improved much on the time and now I know why - because I'm running near my max heart rate. I started mountain biking and jogging this past summer and have lost 35lbs but am still over weight. I'm 5'11 and weigh in at 220. My question is simple for you fitness wizards out there. Will weight loss correlate to faster run times given the same heart rate (common sense says it will but I'm no expert here!) - generally speaking of course.

2003-12-19 4:24 PM
in reply to: #2700

Subject: RE: Heart rate and run times