General Discussion Triathlon Talk » heart monitors Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2003-12-27 10:27 PM

Subject: heart monitors
I have a basic timex ironman heart monitor. it tells me my heart rate, it has a lap feature as well as a timer. it does not keep my avg hr nor does it give me a read out of my max hr. what do all of you use? is there a HR monitor ouththere that you all rave about?

2003-12-28 2:12 AM
in reply to: #2923

User image

Extreme Veteran
Orangeville, Ontario
Subject: RE: heart monitors
I got a polar 410 for Christmas. I am still learning how to use it but I can see how it's going to help allot. Yesterday I went out for my normal run wearing the polar for the first time. The information that I was able to download was very surprising as I discovered that my heart rate was constantly in the 80-85% range. Today I'm going to try and keep it down to 65-75% for my long run. Read the HR Taining article on the main page of beginnertriathlete.com, this should answer allot of your questions.

Geoff
2003-12-28 10:52 AM

User image

Central Louisiana
Data that you can receive post work out such as what you can get from the polar has been beneficial to me. I started out with the timex ironman, probably the same model tha you have and it helped me to get to the next level. All that to say it depends on what you are wanting to get from you heart rate monitor. If you want to get more data, my personal opinion is that the polar monitors are the industry standard.

Still Tri'n
Michael
2003-12-30 1:36 PM

User image

Expert
Rockledge, Fl
I have the Polar s610i and am very happy with it. Gives me more functions than I currently use, but I gradually start using more of them. Example, I can set different HR zones and it beeps when hit min/max. While running, I will walk when hit max to get HR back down when doing endurance type runs to keep my intensity down.
2003-12-31 10:44 AM

User image

Master
San Diego, CA