General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Training Groups Near Lexington/Roanoke? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-12-26 7:07 PM

User image

Subject: Training Groups Near Lexington/Roanoke?
Just wondering if there are any triathlon groups that meet regularly in the Lexington or Roanoke area? Thanks Happy New Year ALL!

2006-12-28 9:41 AM
in reply to: #633619

User image

Regular
Lynchburg, Va
Subject: RE: Training Groups Near Lexington/Roanoke?

Funny, I was looking for the same thing, but more in the Lynchburg area.  No luck so far for me.  This is my first year to Tri, so figured a training group would be good to have.  Let me know if your interested in doing some running and riding on the weekends.  Not sure what your level is, but I ride at about 15 miles an hour and average about a 8:30 pace running.  Nothing fancy here, just  working towards the Eagleman HIM in June. 

Anyone else in the area interested let me know, we could get a small group together.

Edited by geekball2 2006-12-28 9:41 AM
2006-12-30 6:43 PM

User image

Regular
Lynchburg, Va

Is anyone alive in the Lynchburg/Lexington/Roanoke area or am I the only tri in the area?

2007-01-18 1:39 PM

User image

Regular
Lynchburg, Virginia
There is a triatlon club in Roanoke called the Big Lick Triathlon Club... http://biglicktriclub.20fr.com/

They are affiliated with the Blue Ridge Bicycle Club and I think they help organize the Big Lick Triatlon (Olympic Distance in September) at Smith Mountain Lake in Bedford, Virginia. They were just getting started when I moved from Roanoke to Lynchburg, so I didn't really do much with them, but there are some REALLY good triathletes that train with them at all distances from sprint to ironman.
2007-01-18 1:43 PM
in reply to: #635035

User image

Regular
Lynchburg, Virginia