General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Beginner..which Polar HRM to get?? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-01-08 11:01 AM

Subject: Beginner..which Polar HRM to get??
Hey yall! I am new to triathlons and I am wondering which Polar HRM I should get. I really like the S720i, however do I need all of those features. Should I spend that much money. Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

Thanks, kurt

2004-01-08 11:05 AM
in reply to: #3410

User image

Expert
Rockledge, Fl
Subject: RE: Beginner..which Polar HRM to get??
Depends on what you want and how much you want to spend. Of course, it also depends on how much of a geek factor you want :-) The 720 will give you great geek factor! I bought the 610 before I started cycling and wish I had known, but I bought a cateye computer for the bike for $40 that does all the bike functionality the 720 does except for HR (wear my 610 for that) and the saved data for bike functions. I have to write it down from bike computer. Takes about 10 secs.

I like the computer download functionality, but if you don't care about that, you can get a model that is much cheaper. M or A series. Also consider the TimeLink series (see thread under product review forum) which also includes GPS for distance and pace.

Search for other threads on this topic. Others have bought the cheaper ones and are happy with them.
2004-01-08 11:09 AM

Extreme Veteran
Fort Wayne, IN