General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Weight training program. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-09-09 7:22 AM

Regular
Subject: Weight training program.
I'm from a running background and I'm just starting out my triathlon training.
I was planning to do a 2-3 hours a week of each of the 3 sports for the next 4-6 weeks. Just base and technique building.

The training programs say to include weights to build strength. Apart from hill sprints I have never really done an strength specific training. Can anyone recommend a weekly workout for the triathlon and a beginner?

The gym instructor was really nice when I asked him but he didn't really offer any specific triathlon advice. In fact he seemed to be suggesting I need to improve how I'd look on the beach :-)

2004-09-09 11:49 AM
in reply to: #59425

User image

Champion
Gold member
Subject: RE: Weight training program.

just to strengthen up joints and muscles a little:

do 2 exercises for each muscle group, 3-5 sets per exercise, 8-15 reps per set...don't put enough weight on where you can't get 6-8 reps...unless you wanna start building some muscle.

i personally like to focus on free weights as it helps draw in the 'support muscles' instead of isolation.

so for example for chest:

flat bench and incline bench or dumbells.  5 sets of 15, 10, 8, 8, 8

squats are good for legs...keep them light. 

do a 'search' and you may pull up a lot more stuff.

2004-09-09 11:55 AM
in reply to: #59525

Pro
Andover
Hey Ron,

Do you think there would be much benefit in a program that incorporated "rest/recovery" and a "Heavy" week in lifting? For example:

Week 1: 2-3 sets, moderate weight, 10-12 reps
Week 2: 2-3 sets, moderate weight, 10-12 reps
Week 3: 2-3 sets, heavy weight, 6-8 reps
Week 4: 2-3 sets, light weight, 12-15 reps

Or, just have a heavy week on week 4 and keep the rest moderate?

Right now I'm doing 2-3 sets, moderate weight, 10-12 reps. M/Th: Back and Bi's, Tu/Fr: Chest and Tri's.