General Discussion Triathlon Talk » dumb questions about guys bike shorts and shaving... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-10-16 11:22 AM

User image

Gilbert, Az
Subject: dumb questions about guys bike shorts and shaving...
Okay let me just say I'm new to swimming and cycling but have retracted my old motto of "Friends don't let friends wear bike shorts" and I can discern the importance of giving up my "surfer shorts" in the pool.
My current personal dilema is that I have hairy legs...it is light blonde but hairy (to much info?). On early morning rides with the guys it doesn't bother me at all but when around the women it makes me unexplicably very self conscious...sad but true. I don't think having hairy legs ever bothered me until I started wearing cycling shorts because guys are supposed to have leg hair and one looks very streamlined in spandex then Poof! hair. Okay now that we've established my maturity level, let's move on to my questions.
So I guess my question for the guys is how many of you shave your legs and how does one go about such an under taking? Does it make one feel wierd, dry, itch, get stubble in wierd places...I dunno? I'm sure most of the women of BT shave their legs, so please ladies, any thoughts would be appreciated...

2004-10-16 11:32 AM
in reply to: #73132

Champion
Subject: RE: dumb questions about guys bike shorts and shaving...

Well, to start off, I've been shaving mine for 30 years.  You get used to it, and once your legs have a bit of a tan, they look less conspicuous than you imagine.  I don't get comments directly from women, but more in a backhanded manner from my wife, as they seem to tell her at the health club "Your husband sure does have good looking legs!"