General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Tell me a little about your experience Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-12-04 10:29 PM

Regular
Subject: Tell me a little about your experience
A little background on me:

Height: 5'5"
Children: 2
Pre-Pregnancy weight: 135
Pregnancy #1: Gained 65 pounds; Lost 67 Pounds to 133 pounds (felt and looked great)
Pregnancy #2: Gained 52 pounds; lost 42 pounds to 143

I have recently gained to 145 (after weaning baby 2 who is now 13 months old).

I started training three weeks ago. I am not doing tris to lose weight, but I am really hoping to drop at least 8 of my remaining 10 pounds. I cannot get into any of my old pants and it is driving me batty!

I have been following the 16 week sprint tri program religiously for 3 weeks and my weight has not budged. I know it's early, and I WILL NOT give up, but it's still a little frustrating.

Can you share your early training experience with me? How long did it take for you to see some difference in weight? I am not changing my diet b/c I already eat pretty healthy. Prior to the training I was rarely exercising.

2007-12-05 2:20 AM
in reply to: #1083764

User image

Melon Presser
Subject: RE: Tell me a little about your experience

Hi Laura, and welcome to BT!

The difficulty with training for triathlon and losing weight is that they are two separate issues (highly compatible, but still separate). The training programs will prepare you very well to complete a triathlon, but they're not designed to make you lose weight.

I know you said you're not doing triathlons to lose weight, but your post seems to indicate otherwise.

You're also right that three weeks isn't very long. Looking at your weight trend over several months will give you some useful (and probably encouraging) data.