General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Looking for places to swim and get a bike near Totowa Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-12-20 9:08 AM

User image

Subject: Looking for places to swim and get a bike near Totowa
Hi all,

I'm new to training for triathlons, my target first race is the Endless Summer sprint tri at LBI in September 08 (although I'm thinking about doing a warmup one sometime sooner). I just posted my "hello" message in the Introduce Yourself forum.

I live in Totowa (Passaic county) but workout at work in Jersey City. My gym does not have a pool, and I need to find a place to swim, preferably somewhere close to home that I can go to late evenings after the kids go to bed. I would prefer not to get a full gym membership for this, so either a per-session fee or a swimming program I can join would be ideal. My swimming skills can definitely use a lot of work. The 2 places I'll be looking at are the Montclair and Garfield YMCAs. Any opinions on those or other places that I should consider?

Lastly, I need a bike. Any recommendations for local bike shops? I was going to wait until the spring to get a bike since it's too cold/icy to ride now, but I had a suggestion that this is a good time to buy because of year-end specials. I'm a beginner to bike riding (although I've been doing a lot of spinning at the gym), so a friendly shop to walk me through finding the right bike would be most helpful.

Thanks!

2007-12-22 11:35 PM
in reply to: #1111356

Over the rainbow and Into the Woods
Subject: RE: Looking for places to swim and get a bike near Totowa

Hi!

I would recommend Westwood cycle in Westwood because that was where I got my bike this past summer. Alan and the crew was very helpful. great mechanics and just a friendly group of guys. VERY HELPFUL!