General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Ammonia smelling sweat - is it a useful indicator? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-08-11 12:30 PM

User image

The Woodlands, TX
Subject: Ammonia smelling sweat - is it a useful indicator?
Everyone,
I am very new to triathalon, begining training for my first tri in May 2010. I have been reading many posts regarding the cause of ammonia smelling sweat during strenuous workouts. I understand the chemisty and the mechanism for the canbolization of muscle for fuel and the pathway to secretion in sweat. Being a large 6-5 330lb former FB lineman (got the Dr's go ahead so I am good to go) I am concerned that this means I am not targeting the fuel that I want my body to use - the fat, rather than the muscle. So my question to all of you is this: If my current goal is to drop my body fat percentage in this intitial pahse of my training, does the ammonia smell mean that I am over training in intensity or duration? I am following a heart rate based training plan, is that the best approach considering my size, (not sure that matters because when I run or swim I couldnt stay in HR 1-2 if tried)?

Workouts have been going good, except for the swim which is entirely a technique issue at this point, I cant wait for May and looking forward to finishing my 1st Tri! Thank you all for your support - your community is great.

2009-08-11 12:54 PM
in reply to: #2341658

User image

Coach
Boston, MA
Subject: RE: Ammonia smelling sweat - is it a useful indicator?
It probably means you are not fueling/hydrating properly while training. If you are training to lose weight once you define your daily calorie needs based on BMR, activities, etc and set a lower goal so you are on deficit, then shoot for that but make sure to fuel properly when training.