General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike Advice Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-08-21 8:53 AM

Subject: Bike Advice

I am looking for some bike advice.

Bascially, I am looking at getting a used tri bike for around $1000. I have found a few that I am going to go look at and ride this weekend. My main question is, how do I tell if it's good for me and if it fits properly. I am not a bike expert by any means.

I figured it would be cheaper to buy a used tri bike for ~$1000 rather than buying a decent road bike for like $700, then getting aerobars, a computer and all the fancy gadgets.

The models I am going to look at are: Aquila Elite, Aquila Dual Aero, and a Cervelo P2K.

Out of the three I am kind of leaning towards the Cervelo P2K provided it fits okay and I like it. From reading information on the net, Cervelo seems to be a better bike than Aquila.

What do you guys think?

2008-08-21 9:15 AM
in reply to: #1618269

Subject: RE: Bike Advice

Go to your local LBS and look at tri-bikes.  Get on a couple.  Any knowledgeable sales person should at least be able to nail down frame size for you without doing a formal fitting.  I would explain to them that you are looking at a couple of used bikes but that you would like to set an appointment for a fitting session if you do end up buying used.  Most shops charge 50-75.00 for this service.  It will be the best money you've spent.   Unfortunately, some fitters are better than others so do a little research before you settle on a shop.  Try and find a shop that does a significant amount of tri business.  Also do some fit research online that way you'll know what to watch for and ask as you are being fitted.

2008-08-21 9:20 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Dearborn, Michigan, USA.
Here is a copy from a resource I recently wrote for our own website.