BT Development Mentor Program Archives » running2far's Group - Closed Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 8

2009-12-14 10:56 AM

User image

over a barrier
Subject: running2far's Group - Closed

NAME: running2far / Hayes

STORY: Hello, I've been involved in Triathlon since 2006, where I dragged my out of shape self up and down the hills in Galena IL at my first tri. I'm a two time Ironman Finisher (IMOO x 2) with dozens of shorter events completed. I'm a USAT Level 1 coach and USAT Cat 4 official. I tend to believe in quality over quantity when it comes to training as most of has interest or responsibility outside of Triathlon.

FAMILY STATUS: Single with Ironman Girlfriend. Our apartment looks like a tri shop

CURRENT TRAINING: In the middle of a 20 week program designed to lift power and pace at threshold. Lots of fatigue built up in an hour or so a day with a couple of off days to recharge. I'll be shifting some workout to longer runs for an early spring half-marathon.

THIS YEAR'S RACES (2010): Galena Du, Hy-Vee oly, Big Foot Sprint, Door County Half, Bangs Lake Du, Pleasant Prairie Du, Branson 70.3 and hopefully Clearwater World Championship in Nov. I'm racing a bunch this year as Ironman in 09 limited racing opportunities.

2009 RACES: Cutting Edge 1/2, Spirit of Racine 1/2, and Ironman Wisconsin. A few stand along running races as well.

WEIGHTLOSS: I raced this season between 147-150. I'm currently at 160 and will race this season at 140-143. My first race was at 165'ish back in 2006.

WHAT WILL MAKE ME A GOOD MENTOR: I'm a former competitive swimmer that is more than willing to help with stroke instructions/general mechanics as best we can through a forum. I've trained with HR and RPE and currently train using power and pace. I tend to try and fix problems first and then 'pat on the back' second. I' best around motivated athletes and have a passion for the sport and learning. If this sounds like you, I think we'll be a good match.