General Discussion Triathlon Talk » long ride Energy, HR, Fueling & Cramping your analysis please Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-08-18 6:27 AM

Extreme Veteran
Subject: long ride Energy, HR, Fueling & Cramping your analysis please

Folks,

I did my first long ride (100 miles) this season (second century ever) with mixed results. This is my second full season of riding so I have limited experience at this. I am contemplating a Ironman race in 2010 and want /need to start testing myself. My goal for this ride was to keep my HR down and let the time / MPH fall where it falls. 

At 5:00 AM I ate a banana with peanut butter and some gatorade. At 5:30 I took 2 Endurolyte capsules and headed out on the road. I had 2 bottles of gatorade and 2 bottles of plainwater that I alternate sipping every 10 minutes. I took an enduralyte capsule every hour I ate a power bar at the halfway point and a banana at 4 hours in. I finished in 5h:21m no stops and averaged 18.4 MPH, my average HR was 127. My right calf was a little tight but did not cramp I massaged it a couple of times on the road. I did get a viscious cramp in my left hamsting at about 6:30 Saturday evening.