General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Which Gear? Personal preference, or science? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-09-04 2:04 PM

Subject: Which Gear? Personal preference, or science?
I am fairly new to the bike, and trying to get more and more miles in.  I'm having a hard time with gear selection, though.  Is it all about personal preference, or is there a science to knowing what gear you should be in?  Most of my rides are fairly flat, and I find that the "harder" gears allow me to get into a better rhythm, but should I also get practice using the "easier" gears?  Sorry for the lack of terminology, but like I said, I'm still learning!

2009-09-04 2:13 PM
in reply to: #2390156

User image

Extreme Veteran
Sault Ste. Marie
Subject: RE: Which Gear? Personal preference, or science?
I would say your choice of gears comes along the line of personal preference, or to sum it up better personal experience. Once you ride more and more hills, flats, hill+flat, or rollers then you'll know how you react and i can bet that you'll change strategy and gearing over the years.

My first year my buddy told me to spin up every hill with a really high cadence (pedal strokes per minute) and it worked very well. I used to just sit down and spin out every hill.... and even during flats i kept a really high cadence. Which would be an easier gear. I would say i did well on the bike leg.

This year is my second year racing triathlon and i find i can push a lower gear on the flats and it feels way better and i am definitely getting a higher speed and keeping it with the power i have developed in my legs. On steep hills i stand up and bounce the pedals to climb the hills, but try to stay at 23-25kmh....

You mentioned you are fairly new to the bike... so i would recommend spinning up the hills with a high cadence like Lance Armstrong, and then trying several different things on flats.....