General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Need wetsuit help Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-03-22 4:16 PM

Subject: Need wetsuit help
Hi, My name is Roxanne. I am a 41 yr old accountant

After being inspired by a friend last year, on Dec 23, 2003 I decided I was going to swim across the Churchill River. by Jan 1/04 I decided I would also do a 40km bike ride and 10km run at the same time. You have to realize - I am not an athlete, nor have I ever been. I never even knew what a triathlon was until late last fall.

I started swimming and cycling last summer (I learned to swim about 15 yrs ago and swam for about 1 yr) because i was going on a 200 mile wilderness river trip and figured it would be good to be able to swim and walk out if necessary. In summer (weather permitting) I cycle 20 km about 4-5 days a week and i swim 3 days a week slowly (64 laps in an hour on a GOOD day)
I have downloaded a 10 k Vancouver Sun Run program - but found it a bit too agressive - never quite recovered between run days - so i cut my time back to about 40min (3x per week). Budget meetings are also a good excuse to put off exercise plan.

Churchill, Manitoba is north of 56 parallel on the west shore of Hudson Bay. I have been told the avereage water temp is about 10 celsius (50F). I am concerned about the temp, current and tides. Unfortunately, the shortest distance (about 1 mile) is right at the mouth of the river.

I only know of 3 people that have swam across the river. The last guy rubbed his body in Tenderflake lard and wore 2 swim caps - he was so cold he was disoriented in the water and when he came out. I thought I would buy a triathlete wetsuit. I called a store in Wpg and the lady is concerned about the water temp and says I probably need a dive suit and a neoprene Hat. I am roughtly estimating I will be in the 10C water for about 1 hr