General Discussion Triathlon Talk » wetsuit questions Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-08-19 10:30 PM

Subject: wetsuit questions
Brand new to this great sport and I am debating whether or not I need to buy a wetsuit. I am doing sprints and I was hoping someone could tell me at what temp it really benefits you to have wetsuit vs. the time you lose in transition taking it off. The race in question is the Hi Fi Tri in Texas October 25 avg water temp is 74 degrees. Also if I do buy one any advice on brands as well as sleeves or sleeveless would be appreciated.

Thanks, James

2008-08-20 9:46 AM
in reply to: #1615270

User image

Subject: RE: wetsuit questions
I'm no expert, but i can tell you what i did and the mistakes I made. If you are only doing warm water temperature triathlons, you probably don't NEED a wetsuit. But as all triathletes know NEED and WANT are two different things.

However, a wetsuit will make you a "faster" swimmer. Mostly because they will provide bouyancy during the swim. My first year in triathlons (two seasons ago), I rented a sleevless wetsuit that I fell in love with. Bought that wetsuit, no questions asked. It worked fine for that season and the next, but I started looking at some longer distance races in some colder bodies of water (Lake Michigan) In hindsight, I wish I would have bought a full suit right away. Bought a full suit at the beginning of the season and haven't looked back.

Sleeveless are fine, especially since they are cheaper than full. I had a problemwith my sleeveless with chafing if i was doing any type of swim longer that 30 minutes. The full suit that i bought (2XU Comp) is fantastic and wished I wouldn't have waited as long to get one.

I wouldn't worry about time savings on full vs. sleeveless. It's usually down to the waist after I'm out of the water anyway, sleeves or not.