BT Development Mentor Program Archives » PhoenixAzul's Mentor Group -Full up! Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 4

2008-01-12 7:22 PM

User image

Pro
Pittsburgh, my heart is in Glasgow
Subject: PhoenixAzul's Mentor Group -Full up!
NAME: PhoenixAzul, real name is Tracey

STORY: I'm a 22 year old graduate student currently studying Art History at the University of Glasgow. I started tri-ing on a whim 4 years ago after volunteering at the Pittsburgh Triathlon. I fell in love. After gaining 30lbs and letting my diabetes get waaaaaayy out of control, tri was just the kick in the pants this retired swimmer needed. Now that I've lost the weight and then some, I've learned so much about myself, had so many meaningful conversations with myself and my maker, and made so many friends through this sport. If you would have asked me 4 years ago if I could run outside of a rhino attack situation, I'd have laughed. But these days, the world is bright with possibilities, and tri is just one of those many possibilities!

FAMILY STATUS: Engaged, gettin' hitched November 15!

CURRENT TRAINING: 2007 was an unfortunately light year race-wise for me, only two races (miami uni. student triathlon and deer creek oly) due to work/school/financial stress. Those things tend to detract from my training, and when I fall off, those are the things that are ruining my mojo. With that acknowledged, it isn't an excuse.

I have dreams of marathoning. I've dreamed about it for a long time. This is my year. But I've got to get a move on, so right now I'm amping up my run times.

I've also got to get back to the pool. I took some time away after getting my tattoo, but there's no excuse now and I've got to just do it.

THIS YEAR'S RACES: Miami University Sprint Tri, Deer Creek Oly tri

2008 RACES: Meadow's Marathon 1/2 marathon, March 2.
Edinburgh Uni. Sprint Tri, March 22
Belfast City Marathon, 5 May