Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 17

2008-04-21 11:09 PM

User image

Master
San Francisco
Subject: enginerd's group - CLOSED

NAME: enginerd / Donato

STORY: First off, I'm a big geek.  I was the unathletic, asthmatic, near-sighted geek you knew in high school.  I'm an engineer by degree and an IT Manager by profession.

Many years ago, I was an off-and-on recreational runner.  A large project at work kept me busy and I ceased excercising for more than a year.  I, not surprisingly, gained weight.  Sometime after the project had finished, I eventually became fed up with being overweight.  At a party one day, I met some folks who had done triathlons and I remembered watching Kona and IM Wisconsin on TV when I was younger; I thought that it was all so cool and impressive.

In late 2005, I rekindled my running.  In early 2006, i started swimming laps and bought a bike and started riding, things I hadn't done in over 20 years.  In that first year, I did my first sprints and worked my way up to Olys.  I also ran my first marathons and biked my first century.  It was all incredibly empowering.  

I built on this fitness in my second year and did my first half IMs, my first IM, and started running ultramarathons.  I couldn't believe I could do these things.  Now, I'm in my third year and I already have an action packed schedule and I can't wait to see how it all turns out!

FAMILY STATUS:
Married, no kids.  One 15-year old Turkish Angora cat.

CURRENT TRAINING:
  Ramping up for IM Lanzarote (May 24)!

2008 RACES:  Here's my race/event schedule so far:

3/29/08 IM Cal 70.3 - 5:25:01
4/19/08 Tierra Bella Double Metric Century - DONE!
4/26/07 Mt. Hamilton Challenge - registered
4/27/08 Big Sur Marathon - registered
5/4/08 Grizzly Peak Century - registered
5/24/08 IM Lanzarote - registered
9/7/08 IM Wisconsin - registered