General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Road vs. Tri Bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-08-22 4:11 AM

User image

Expert
Subject: Road vs. Tri Bike

Hey

I am totally new to Tri and plan for 2 sprints next season (need to learn how to swim well).  I wondered about the decision to buy an entry level Tri bike versus an entry level Road bike.  I am 6'2" with a couple of old Compression fx's in my L Spine and I am worried that the extreme position of a Tri bike may not be good for that.  My LBS owner suggests a Giant OCR1.

Any thoughts?

Thanks.

2008-08-22 7:32 AM
in reply to: #1620494

User image

Master
Lafayette, IN
Subject: RE: Road vs. Tri Bike

This is a huge area of discussion among the cycling world!

Here are my thoughts which have no professional diagnosis, only my experiences.

I too needed a new bike when I got into tris and was thinking the same.  Do I buy a tri bike or a road bike.  I decided to buy the road bike.  Apparantly most triathletes train on a road bike and race on their tri bike.  I couldn't afford both, so I went with the road bike. 

I have done 4 sprints, 1 olympic, and 1 half-ironman this summer on my road bike.  I don't ride real fast (19-20mph now, I started the season at 17mph) and I think that maybe now I am just getting to the speed that could take advantage of the increased aerodynamic efficiency of a tri bike.  I think I could get more "bang for the buck" by putting a set of aero wheels on my road bike for next season.

Another factor is that racing a tri bike changes the angle of your hip/leg on the bike.  It has been said that this helps conserve strength for the run. This would be the real reason I would buy a tri bike if someone could categorically tell me that my run would be faster. 

I have heard many people say that the course is more of a factor for choosing a tri bike than the distance is.  Hilly, technical courses seem to be better raced on a road bike.