Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 23

2008-12-18 10:42 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Sylvania, OH
Subject: FancyPants Group- CLOSED

NAME: AKR18 Anne Reed

STORY: I'm a mom of 2 busy kiddos (ages 18 months and 6 years). I started training for my first tri in January of 2008 and haven't stopped. I was delusional after the birth of my second child and told my husband (ridiculously fit triathlete) that I would do a tri in 2008; he handed me training plans in January, and the rest is history. At the time I could not even walk a fast mile, and I cried over how ugly I thought my first pair of properly fitted running shoes were.

FAMILY STATUS: Married to another triathlete (he's obsessed, I just do it for the cookies)

CURRENT TRAINING: I trained for and completed two sprint distance triathlons in 2008 and two 5k races. I am currently doing a winter maintenance program and will train for sprint distances again this spring. THIS YEAR'S RACES: In 2008 I completed an all women's triathlon in July (sprint) and a sprint distance tri in Northern Michigan in September.

2009 RACES: I am training for 3 sprint distance races (2 that I did last year- my goal is to improve my times) and a 10k in the fall.

WEIGHTLOSS: I lost 20 pounds prior to having my last child, and used triathlon training to help me lose inches- I have gone down one full size, almost 2. I am currently doing Weight Watchers along with training to help me lose the last 10 pounds.