BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Artemis's Mentor Group - FULL! Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 14

2009-04-08 10:07 AM

User image

Science Nerd
Redwood City, California
Subject: Artemis's Mentor Group - FULL!
Name: Jen (Artemis)

Story
:  I did my first triathlon in 2005 just to see if I could do it.  I'd come from a background of swimming in high school and lots of biking with my family, but I really hadn't worked out regularly or trained for a few years before this.  I'd certainly never been a runner.  I started with the BT Couch to 5k run training plan and finished my first in October, 2005.  Since then, I've done sprint and olympic distance tris and ran my first marathon last fall.

I'm currently a graduate student getting a PhD in Integrative Life Sciences, focusing on Bioinformatic studies of Pulmonary Hypertension.  Basically, a fancy way of saying that I'm trying to find the genes that cause patients with PAH to fail.  It's interesting work.  I love the clinical applications.

Family Status:  Married (5 years this summer!), no kids, 2 cats

Current Training
: I'm currently training for a Duathlon using one of the BT training plans.

In general, I use training plans available here on the site.  I am planning to start heart rate (HR) training this year because I have a tendency to overexert myself rather quickly and then get too tired to finish long runs.

This Year's Races: So far, I've run a 10k.  First race since an injury last fall.

2009 Races: National Duathlon Festival, Rockett's Landing Triathlon (Bike in a relay), Capital to Capital Half Century, Scenic Shore 150, Pink Power Triathlon.

Trying to decide if I am going to do a HIM as a relay (I'd be the swimmer).  I'm also considering doing another marathon in November.  Everything is still kind of up in the air right now.