BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Oriondriver's Balanced Approach to Tri's - CLOSED Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 4

2010-12-30 4:10 PM

User image

Expert
Prattville, AL
Subject: Oriondriver's Balanced Approach to Tri's - CLOSED
NAME: Oriondriver02/ Scott Askins 

STORY: I am a 22 year Naval Officer (P-3 Pilot...hence the callsign) and currently stationed at Maxwell AFB in Montgomery, AL as a member of the USAF Air War College faculty... 2010 was my first year in multi-sport and I began training in late June for the Cajun Man in September... it started as a way for my Brother and I to honor our Father who recently passed away from brain cancer... but once I completed it I was hooked...  here is my story from USAT website... http://www.usatriathlon.org/resources/multisport-zone/my-story/multisport-road-trips-for-the-books

FAMILY STATUS: I am married with 4 kids... 3 daughters (16,14,10) and a son (12)... we are an active family having done 5K's together and this year my son is doing his first multisport event... the PowerMan Alabama Kids Duathlon!

CURRENT TRAINING: 5 weeks in HM plan and 1st of the year add cycling to prep for my first two events of the year!

THIS YEAR'S RACES: 
8/23 DPES 5K
9/3 HAP Mitchell Mile
9/12 Cajun Man Sprint (800m/20mi/5K)
9/26 USAT Sprint Nationals (750m/20K/5k)
10/23 Spinners Pumpkin Run 5K
11/19 HAP Quesada 5K

2011 RACES:  
2/5 HAP Lemay 10K
2/13 Mercedes Half Marathon in Birmingham, AL (13.1 miles)
3/28 Powerman Alabama Double Oak Duathlon in Pelham, AL (2.5K/20K/2.5K)
4/2 HAP Tunner 10 Miler at Maxwell AFB, AL (10 miles)
5/4 Peachtree International in Peachtree City GA (1.5K/40K/10K) 
6/4 Grandman Triathlon in Fairhope AL (1/3mi/16.4mi/3.1mi)
6/11 Buster Britton Memorial Triathlon in Birmingham AL (400y/13mi/3mi)
7/24 Music City Sprint in Nashville TN or IMJ Coaching Camp in Boulder CO
8/13 Mountain lakes Triathlon in Guntersville AL (600y/16.2mi/3mi)