BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Artemis' "WE CAN DO IT!" Mentor Group - FULL Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 22

2011-01-01 12:54 PM

User image

Science Nerd
Redwood City, California
Subject: Artemis' "WE CAN DO IT!" Mentor Group - FULL
Name: Artemis (Jen)

Story: I started training for my first triathlon in 2005 and I was HOOKED!  There's nothing that compares to the feeling of crossing the finish line after your first race.  It is magical!  I've had several injuries throughout my career, but I've tried to persevere through them and train smart despite them.  I love going out for a long run and feeling like I could conquer the world after!

Family Status: Married, no kids, 2 cats.  I'm working on finishing up my PhD in genetics this summer

Current Training: I'm getting back up to running following an injury-filled fall.  I'm working up to a 10k and will start following a sprint training plan after that.

2011 Races: My big goal for the year will be the Rock n Roll Half Marathon in September and the Richmond Half Marathon in November.  I'll also be doing some 5ks and shorter tris over the summer.

2010 Races: I finished a half-marathon, Sprint tri, and several 5ks and 10ks before I was sidelined by a stress fracture.

Weightloss: I have a big weight-loss goal - 40 pounds overall!

What Will Make Me a Good Mentor: I firmly believe that EVERYONE can be successful in this sport.  I've been through the high points and the low points of triathlon training, and I want to help you achieve your goals.  Whether you need assistance in choosing your training plan, or just someone to help motivate you, I can be there for you!

Edited by Artemis 2011-04-09 11:44 PM

2011-04-07 1:17 PM
in reply to: #3271134

User image

Master
Saskatchewan
Subject: Sign me up!

I'm in!

Name: Marina

Family Status: Single with dog.