BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Neweyes' Intelligent Trisign Group -- full Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 8

2011-01-02 11:03 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: Neweyes' Intelligent Trisign Group -- full

Hi! My name is Michael, and I am excited to be part of a triathlon mentoring group!

I am a grad student in the sciences, and I take the scientific approach into the world into triathlon. I have to understand why a plan says to train, eat, recover, etc. the way it does, and I like to make sure that what I'm doing is the most effective way to get where I want to go.

I was a state champion tennis player in high school, after which I was binge drinking, pack-a-day smoking, restaurant-eating, non exerciser for about seven years. Back in 2005, I started eating a healthy diet, started jogging a little and got my life together. I ran a 10k and one sprint tri in 2008, was out of the country in 2009, and then did a bunch of sprint tris, an olympic, a half marathon, a marathon, and an ultra marathon (50k) in 2010. In 2011, I'll be making the jump to the iron distance.

I am unmarried and in a wonderful relationship with a (slightly less obsessed) triathlete and distance runner.

My training necessarily fluctuates a fair amount with the other demands of life, but I love the structure provided by training plans. I think we should strive to follow plans precisely, but accept when life throws challenges our way and recognize that sometimes other responsibilities take priority over fitness and racing. I think nutrition and rest/recovery are critical components of training that are almost universally under emphasized. I put a good deal of thought into what I eat. I'm not by any means perfect, but I mostly subscribe to the Michael Pollan dictum, "eat food, not too much, mostly plants." I am currently experimenting with whey supplementation and will be continuing on-bike nutrition experiements into this training season.