General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Type 1 Diabetes Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2008-02-08 12:31 AM
in reply to: #1147607

Veteran
Subject: RE: Type 1 Diabetes

Sorry to chime in so late after you posted. Type 1 here. First off, diabetes is something that can be managed and you can live a long fulfilling life just like anyone else. The key is early education and tight glucose control. I am a critical care nurse and I see way too many people in their 30's blind, on dialysis, and having heart attacks just because they lacked the proper knowledge to take care of themselves or just didn't didn't care during the early stages of the disorder. Diabetes is tricky because you dont see the harsh effects of uncontrolled blood sugars until later in life. Be smart, educate and take care of yourself early. Fear of the diabetes complications always puts me in check with staying as healthy as possible.

As a nurse I would recommend holding back a bit on your training because in this initial time your doctors and dietians are looking to find out your baseline insulin and nutrition regimin. This is a lifelong condition/battle and the early stages of knowing what your body needs and how it reacts to certain foods is important. This is the trail and error stage. Doing long endurace exercising while adjusting medications and carb/calorie intake may through a wrench in things. Exercise is something that can greatly affect the adjustments for how your body will require food and insulin. Then when this is established start gradually get into exercising and adjustments can be made from there. I agree that right now light moderate exercise is still good but nothing like endurance training this soon.