General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Newbie in Forsyth County Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-01-11 9:49 PM

New user

Subject: Newbie in Forsyth County
Hello BT Georgia Folks! I am a Newbie in Forsyth county. REALLY Newbie -like...I don't own a bike yet or even swim goggles.... but I do have running shoes so I guess that is where I will start my couch to tri training. I am looking for an indoor pool where I can begin swim training and was wondering if anyone might have some insight. There is so much to learn about tri and it seems a bit daunting but I am committed to learning. I would really appreciate any input you might have with regard to local support.

Thanks!
Andi

2008-01-12 7:23 AM
in reply to: #1151624

User image

Master
Subject: RE: Newbie in Forsyth County
Hi Andi -
Most health clubs have indoor pools, these days, so check those out. YMCAs seem to mostly have pools, but they are pricey. We've found a local recreation dept pool was the best (cheapest) solution for us. Depending on where you are in Forsyth Cty, there may be some good pools near you, especially if you are near Alpharetta.
Good luck with your training!
Steph
2008-01-12 7:56 AM
in reply to: #1151813

New user

Thanks Steph. I toured the YMCA a couple of days ago. Beautiful, but as you said, pricey. Too pricey for us right now. I live in Cumming and have searched the web for community indoor pools and have not come up with anything. (I am newish to this area). I will check out Alpharetta. I would like to find a place that also has open swims where I can take my preschoolers.

Thanks again!
Andi
2008-01-12 10:29 AM

User image

Expert
Sugar Hill, GA