General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hello from Rochester MN Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-06-05 12:54 PM

User image

Rochester, MN
Subject: Hello from Rochester MN

I am new to the tri world and am finding it to be a fun and exciting adventure thus far.  I have been a yo-yo fitness freak for most of my life.  Mostly in the gym weight training, but at times biking to work 7 mi each way and running 3-4 times a week.  This was years ago.  I never liked the idea of long distances running or riding.  But a triathlon?  That sounds cool!  A viceral test of a human being to endure three all-out challenges to get to a finish line.  I had always had an attraction to the idea.  Then I heard my hometown was going to have their first annual Rochesterfest Triathlon this year (Rochester, MN).  And I learned their are sprint distances (something I can achieve in short order!)  Plus I am a sucker for anything "first annual", I don't know why...

So, February 2008 I put down the beer and got off the couch, signed back up at my favorite fitness center at 220 lbs. and went to work.  I started with weight training (to build a bigger furnace to burn off the fat - and cuz that's what I knew), slowly added some cardio, and then alot of things happened...  I got up to a slow 3 mile run and decided I should do the Winter Be Gone Duathlon (sprint) in April.  Plus it was a "first annual" event - I had to do it.  It was a great event, cold, but fun.  Temp at starting was in the 30's!  I learned two main things at this event, I needed a new bike, my 12 yr old Schwinn Mesa mountain bike wasn't going to cut it if I ever wanted to be competitive in the bike split.  And I needed to get serious about training.  The second run was a beatch!