General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Any cheap places for upgraded parts? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-08-12 10:42 PM

Subject: Any cheap places for upgraded parts?
I apologize, but please move to respective forum if this is not the appropriate one.

Hi guys, I'm a newbie to the sport and well, I basically just got my own personal bike back in february. It's a schwinn prelude 14 speed aluminum, 700C wheels...and that's all i know about it (reemphasizing new cyclist here). I've raced it a couple times in sprint triathlons and use it for commuting to my school. It's a good entry level bike for me, but I may need to upgrade sooner or later. This is because the bike is not entirely a fit for me (my arms is more forward than necessary), so I know I will have to make adjustments. Today I've replaced the stem with a specialized one I got from an LBS (~$40 + $10 handlebar shim). It's shorter than the original one, which is good and I will try how it feels tomorrow (hoping it will ease up the strain from my arms and neck).

Now I'm wondering if there's any way I could probably save up money or at least be cheap at upgrading parts. Is my LBS the best bet (in Santa Cruz)?

The next thing I'll be shelling out money on is aero bars. Would it be wise to buy (clip on?) aero bars at your LBS considering that they only have limited options? Is there any advice on buying aerobars? Does it matter where you buy it?

Comments and advice would be really helpful and I apologize for being naive about these things.

Thanks.

2008-08-13 7:52 AM
in reply to: #1599361

User image

Champion
Two seat rocket plane
Subject: RE: Any cheap places for upgraded parts?

There are indeed lots of places (particularly online) where you can get bike parts cheaper than at your LBS. Performance/Nashbar, Colorado Cyclist (sometimes), Jenson, Price point, Bikeman....and on and on.