BT Development Mentor Program Archives » BamaDC's Mentor Group - Closed Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 11

2009-01-12 9:20 PM

User image

Master
Rogersville, Alabama
Subject: BamaDC's Mentor Group - Closed

NAME: BamaDC / Mark
STORY:
In 2005 my wife (Amanda) wanted to run a Marathon.  And said, “you should do it to.”  So I started training in July of 05 and ran my first marathon in Feb. 06, the Ocala Marathon (4:15:30). 

My quick increase in running volume lead to some overuse injuries.  This caused me to start attending spinning classes.  The teachers were all cyclist and they took my under their wings and I started cycling.  And I swam competitively until the 9th grade, so what the heck… I’ll do a triathlon.  I did a few races in 06, nothing that special… well that’s another topic.  I didn’t do/race any tris in 07, because of our first baby and my last year of Professional School. 
So in 08 I went all out.  I finished Ironman Louisville in 14:19 and improved my half marathon time by 8 min.  1:50 in Feb 08 to a 1:42 in Nov 08.

FAMILY STATUS: Married going on 5 years.  One son (Thomas) turns two this Jan. and another son due in March (Jackson). 
CURRENT TRAINING: I have big plans for 09.  I want to run a sub 1:35 half marathon and I want to finish IMKY in 12:XX.  I hired a coach in Nov and it has been a very good decision.  I also I’ve started training with a powermeter when biking.
THIS YEAR'S RACES: IMKY 14:19, Mercedes Half Mary 1:50, Hunstville Half May 1:42, two other sprint tris
2009 RACES: Mercedes Half Mary, Powerman Alabama, Gulf Coast Tri, Buster Britton Tri, Mountain Lakes Tri, Ironman Louisvlle, the rest of 09 will be determined later on.
WEIGHTLOSS:  After IMKY I gained 8 pounds, from 172 to 180.  My coach and I set a goal to be under 8% body fat before/by IMKY.  So that should put me in the 160-165 range.  So in short, I want to loose 15 to 20 pounds.