BT Development Mentor Program Archives » ultrahip_00's Mentor Group - Closed Again! Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 19

2009-04-21 11:56 AM

User image

Master
Kirkland, WA
Subject: ultrahip_00's Mentor Group - Closed Again!
NAME: ultrahip_00  - Mike

STORY: I am a 22 year old who has been doing triathlons for almost two years.  I graduated college last May (almost 1 year already!), and work as a Sales Engineer in the Seattle Area.  I am from Idaho, and went to school out there.  I got started in Tri's by living with a guy who was doing IM-CDA while I was doing an internship and I decided to give it a shot!  My parents have always been active w/biking and backpacking and stuff, so it wasn't too far of a stretch for me to get started.  I signed up for my first triathlon and completed it about 2 months after i started training!  Since then, i have done 7 triathlons (5 sprint, 2 OLY's), 3 half marathons and several other running races

FAMILY STATUS: I have a wonderful girlfriend who is attending grad school in Oregon - about 4.5 hrs away.

CURRENT TRAINING: I have historically trained on my own and usually right around 8-10 hours per week.  I have tended to focus on one sport more than the other two for a period of time (last summer, i biked a lot, all fall/winter, i ran a lot).  Now, I am working with a coach so I am a lot more balanced and putting in a lot more time!

THIS YEAR'S RACES: This year is the half-iron year!  So far, i have done two half marathons - setting a PR with 1:26:07 and one sprint race (last weekend!).  I am doing Boise 70.3 in June, Lake Stevens 70.3 in August and (Hopefully) Clearwater in November. 

2009 RACES:  I suppose I hit this in the last section!  My goal for the year is to qualify for the 70.3 World Championships in Clearwater, FL while at Boise.  I figure I will need a 4:40 or so to even have a shot!