General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Question on the tri-bike and hill philosophy Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-08-02 10:00 AM

Subject: Question on the tri-bike and hill philosophy
OK.... Im new to riding period. I really am planning on doing some tris, I like the challenge and utilize the training as a good fitness routine all around.

So on some of the other sites and at times this one, I hear about the tri bike just sucking in the hills. Im currently going to start looking for a road bike or tri bike. Either one, but only one at this point. My usual rides are 30-40 miles on the weekends. I have done one charity ride of 150 miles over two days thats VERY hilly.

I currently ride a Trek 7300 and man its slow and heavy after 150 miles.

Why is the tri bike considered so negativly for the hills? Is it the rider position, is it the type of bars up front just dont offer the standing and leg crunching power as a road bike on the flats?

Im a drag racer - and quite honestly, the tri bike just looks so much more fast, and like a dragster.....LOL - I know real stupid reason, but hey. If Im riding it. I gotta feel fast at least. I wont ride very fast. Im a bigger guy and figure any time IM in aero has gotta be an advantage to my 48 inch chest catching air.

thanks... 

2009-08-02 10:12 AM
in reply to: #2322158

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: Question on the tri-bike and hill philosophy