General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Another newbie with questions... Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-03-24 11:11 PM

User image

Expert
Lafayette, CO
Subject: Another newbie with questions...
OK, so I've been running for a couple of years, more off than on (when it snows, it's SO much better to be skiing than running!) A few years back, I got a wild hair, and competed in a bodybuilding contest and didn't do too bad. Lately, I've been sensing another wild hair...I just HAVE to do a tri, just to prove to myself that I can do it.

Got the shoes, got a bike, going to start hitting the pool to swim seriously (not just float along). I'm eyeing one of two tris at the end of August (already running about 2.5 miles x 3 or 4 times a week), and I'll rapidly build to biking a lot now that the weather has warmed up.

My first question, as I'm sure that I'll have more, is just what the heck will I be doing at the swim to bike transition point? I've never even watched a tri, so I'm lost. Is there a changing room or tent? Should I just spend the money to get a suit that I can do all three events in? Why do I get these wild hairs every couple of years?

Thanks, in advance!

2004-03-25 12:04 AM
in reply to: #14223

User image

Veteran
Sydney
Subject: RE: Another newbie with questions...
Hi joe welcome to the site!
when you get out of the water you will have a short run to the bike compond (usually just a large grass or concreted area baracaded off with many long racks to hang your bike) where you must locate your bike (very important - its quite easy to forget so make sure you remember where it is). you can have your bike hung over the bar by the seat or brake levers.
Have a towel on the ground next to your bike to dry/clean your feet
once in the transition you must do the following:
1) take off goggles, cap, wetsuit
2) put on a shirt/singlet (if torso not already covered) or race number bib. Put your shoes on if not clipped on the bike