General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Comparing Online Fit With Professional Fit Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-09-19 9:39 AM

User image

Expert
Fountain Hills, AZ
Subject: Comparing Online Fit With Professional Fit
**I am NOT a bike fitter and have ZERO training in bike fitting, but I have been fit for a tri and a roadie by a fit guru, and paid attention...  ...still please take this advice/info with a healthy shake of salt!***

I'm 187cm tall, or just under 6'-2". I ride a moderate amount (>800 miles so far this year). I a 19.1 MPH racer on a flat Oly course like Nation's Triathlon in downtown DC, riding on a road bike (No tri bike yet ... gonna build one this winter... but that is another post!) I am a HUGE advocate of professional fitting ... it is the most important $100 upgrade you can get for your bike, in my opinion. And, with a pro fit, the pro will also set your bike up for you.... as usual, anybody can have a plan, but execution is the differentiator!

I was professionally fit recently, and compared the results with the results from the Competitive Cyclist tri-specific fit program on their website just now. Pretty darn close. For instance, I was fit to a 32" distance from crank bolt to seat top on a tri bike, and Competitive Cyclist was 32.3". (My road bike fit was 32.5", but this feels just a little long for me, so I've settled on 32.3" for my roadie seat position, BTW). For tri bike size, I was fit to 560mm ETT with 110mm stem, and Competitive Cyclist calculated 559mm - 579mm, with an 80mm to 100mm stem ie pro fit was 670mm total and Competitive Cyclist ranged around 660mm +/- 20mm.