General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Newbie with yet another bike question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-06-04 10:12 PM

User image

Baton Rouge, LA
Subject: Newbie with yet another bike question

I have been lurking around here for the past month reading all the posts I can (trying to learn as much as possible) and I have been following the 16 month beginner sprint program. Unfortunately, the only 'experience' I have in any of these sports is from swimming waaaay back when. I have, however, been consistently going to the gym for a few years now. I started with the BFL program and have stuck with some kind of weight program from then on, but I started to feel like a needed something to work towards. I went searching on the internet and found the GirlPower Tri in N.O. and thought why not, so I started training and have actually dragged a friend into it with me. 

Anyway, the question I am trying to get to is about bikes. I have currently been training on a MTB, but went looking at road bikes today. I was surprised to find  that a couple of the local bike stores (out of only a few here) carried basically only one brand of bike. The store that I was most impressed with carried only KHS bikes. I have never read anything about this brand on this site or seen it anywhere else that I have looked on the web before I went into the store. I was wondering if anyone around here has any experience with these bikes and can fill me in on any pros or cons.

Thanks, Tee

2005-06-04 10:16 PM
in reply to: #168779

New user
Subject: RE: Newbie with yet another bike question
Your best bet is to shop for a bike shop that can do a good job of fitting you. The bike that fits will be the fastest and most comfortable. A 500 dollar bike that fits will be much faster than a 3000 dollar bike that does not fit. Go with the shop that offers the best service and knows the most about bike fit. You won't be sorry.

Mike P.
2005-06-04 10:36 PM

User image

Expert