General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Open water swim training in cold climates? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-12-09 12:05 PM

User image

Regular
Manhattan, NY
Subject: Open water swim training in cold climates?

I am thinking about doing the Knoxville Rev3 either olympic or half IM in May, and I'm not concerned about getting in shape, but mostly the difference between swim training in a pool vs. open water.  I'm in pretty solid shape, and don't think I'd have a problem swimming either distance, its just that the open water aspect would be completely new to me.  Unfortunately, I will be coming from NYC, where the waters are not exactly ideal for open water swimming.  I've never done open water before, but grew up as a swimmer, so I feel confident I would be fine.  Any insight into this conundrum?  

The other thing that makes this race appealing, is that my work takes me to India probably a week after that May 8-9 race, until August, so I don't have the luxury of doing all the warm summer races or utilizing summer weather to train for open water swims.  I kind of have to work with the reverse triathlon season unfortunately!

2009-12-09 12:18 PM
in reply to: #2550565

User image

Bob
Binghamton, NY
Subject: RE: Open water swim training in cold climates?
I would just get as much swim training as you can in the pool. You can work on sighting in the pool by lifting your head every 3 or 4 strokes and spotting a water bottle on the edge of the pool. Closing your eyes for 4 or 5 strokes with a sighting stroke is good training as well. The main thing is that you are in good swimming shape and are comfortable with the distances.

When I talk to triathletes about the swim portion of a sprint or olympic distance race I recommend a 750 m warm-up building to a 1500 m warm-up before the main set of the workout. This way when you get to your race, mentally you are just doing a warm-up. If you have the time, build up to a 2000 yd warm-up before a main set.