UK Triathlon Forum England » I'm a total beginner and need some advice.....please Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply
2010-03-02 9:32 AM

Subject: I'm a total beginner and need some advice.....please
Hi all,

I am a total beginner looking to get into triathlon, looking forward to getting stuck in.  I am looking for a club in Birmingham that can guide me with training, nutrition etc.

Is it possible to go from complete beginner to triathlon?  I am 31 years old and could do with losing a few stone but not obese.

Looking forward to the help

Cheers

Mick

2010-03-02 3:23 PM
in reply to: #2701954

User image

Subject: RE: I'm a total beginner and need some advice.....please
Hi Mick

Welcome to this forum, I am in Brighton so can't help re club but google it and there is usually a club associated to a good gym.
Do you have a plan re your weight loss? Calories in, calories out, do more of the calories out = excercising and you will lose the weight - simples!

I have already lost a stone by gym, cycling to work and just started jogging. I have a heart defect and a very dodgy shoulder but these are getting sorted out and I am planning on my first tri within the year.
Get signed up for one and get a training plan sorted, you could  start off walking or non impact such as cycling or joining a gym and have a session with a personnal trainer.

BEst of luck, keep us informed and get inspired from the weight loss forum on here!
2010-03-03 11:53 AM

User image

Regular
Essex, England
Mick
It is certainly possible to go from total beginner couch potato to triathlete.
I did it in 2008 as a bet. have never been a good runner, cycled a bit for fun and could just about swim 50m before I had to stop for a rest.
I followed the 20 week beginner sprint training plan on this site and then did the Blenheim sprint which almost killed me but I was hooked.