General Discussion Race Reports! » Fleet Feet Sports Soldier Field 10 Mile Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

Fleet Feet Sports Soldier Field 10 Mile - Run10 Mile

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Chicago, Illinois
United States
Fleet Feet Sports
75F / 24C
Sunny
Total Time = 1h 18m 36s
Overall Rank = 890/8340
Age Group = F40-44
Age Group Rank = 33/517
Pre-race routine:

Up before the alarm. Coffee. Two pieces whole wheat bread with tsp of peanut butter and honey. This was too much, should only eat one piece of bread before a race. I know this. Stretch and roll out the potentially problematic calf. The kids both decided it would be a good idea to get up with us so I got to feed them too. Babysitter was on time and we were out the door on time.
Event warmup:

I am not very good at warming up for races. Plus we stood in line for the port a potty which took up most of the pre-race.
Run
  • 1h 18m 36s
  • 10 miles
  • 07m 52s  min/mile
Comments:

Started off in the A corral, which was pretty large even though it was seeded. It is really important to start as far up as possible on a big race like this...so painful to try to pass people in a huge crowd. I felt dehydrated before the start so I made the decision to take a water at every water station. Normally I would only have hit 2 or 3, but I was a bit concerned so I just made it my plan and stuck with it. It worked fine. This was the first race I have ever entered where I wasn't sure I would be able to finish. My sore calf was really concerning me. I wore compression sleeves on both legs and while my calf felt tired at around mile 6 or 7, it never deteriorated into anything more serious. I was pretty happy with my pace...a bit uneven but no huge drop offs, even when I started to feel it.
What would you do differently?: