Other Resources My Cup of Joe » New Bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller Reply
2004-04-15 10:38 AM

User image

Expert
Torrington,CT
Subject: New Bike
Okay everyone, I'm still waiting to go try out some bikes. Looks like Sunday or Monday will be the day. I'm comparing a Specialized Dolce and a 2003 Cannondale (model unknown because I forgot to take note).

Any advice out there?

Thanks,
Evelyn

2004-04-15 11:37 AM
in reply to: #18570

Champion
Subject: RE: New Bike
Evelyn, I've never owned a Specialized, but I currently have 2 Cannondales and my son has one, and I can't say anything bad about any of them. They all been fine bikes and I've never had a problem with any of the shifting mechanisms or anything. I'm an amateur bike mechanic and maintain mine religiously, but I'm still impressed with the line. As a side note, I would get a bike with at least Shimano 105 equipment as a minimum. It's a step up from the Tiagra line and if you can afford it, either the 105 or the Ultegra are the way to go. The places to not skimp on equipment on a bike are the deraileurs and the wheels. Good shifting mechanisms are needed since they get quite a lot of use. And a nice lightweight set of wheels is worth its weight in gold. Light wheels will increase your speed and average mph more than anything. Rotating weight is more important than static weight. A pound off the wheels is worth 5 lbs off the frame.

Max
2004-04-15 1:05 PM
in reply to: #18570

User image

Champion
Ottawa, Ontario
The Dolce is a woman's specific bike and has three models, the Comp (steel frame with Ultegra components), the Elite (aluminum frame with Ultegra Components) and the Sport models (aluminum frame with mostly Sora components). Cannondale makes to many models to make any kind of assessment either. Which models are you looking at and what, specifically, are you buying a bike for? Road? Triathlon? Training and Triathlon? Training, triathlon, and tours?
2004-04-15 8:37 PM