United States
Wasatch Area Race Productions
Sunny
Total Time = 2h 26m 52s
Overall Rank = /
Age Group = 35-39
Age Group Rank = 4/5
Pre-race routine:

Slept in the trailer at the race venue, got up early, didn't eat much. A small peant butter and honey sandwhich, and some water. We set up T2, then hopped on the shuttle us down to the lake. My poor hubby realized as we were about to pull away from the curb that he forgot is sunglasses, so he went back for them. Picked up timing chip, swim cap, and got body marked lakeside at T1. Chatted with friends while waiting on hubby, set up T1, then did the wetsuit wiggle.
Event warmup:

Uh...I did the wetsuit wiggle. :) (why am I always so sweaty by the time I get that thing on? ;) ) And I ate a gu.
Swim
  • 14m 9s
  • 766 meters
  • 01m 50s / 100 meters
Comments:

The Olympic distance swimmers were making their second lap around the course when we started. I have never done a deep water start before. It felt fine, though. the swim as a whole was average for me--not so much for other people. I need to spend more time in the water, for sure. I haven't been panicky in open water for a while, but I can't seem to get the breathing to go smoothly on the left side any more. And sidestroke felt harder today than usual--which is good because it forced me to do more freestyle. I got to the point on the way back to shore where I had to breathe every stroke (I usually do every other stroke on the right, or bilateral breathe). That made me a little panicky because it usually signals me getting tired. I didn't want to finish the swim with nothing left for the bike and run, so I just took it easy, gave myself permission to slow down and even stop for a sec to adjust the goggles. I didn't get a new pair of goggles before the tri, and the last leg of the swim was into the sun, so between the foggy, old goggles and tyhe sun, sighting was a bit of an issue. My old goggles have lasted over 3 years, and they are scratched and once they start to fog